The Majic Bus

The Majic Bus was created and led by Dr. Douglas Brinkley, Katherine Tsanoff Brown Chair in Humanities and Professor of History at Rice University, CNN Presidential Historian, and a contributing editor at Vanity Fair.

The Majic Bus was a 12 credit, collegiate experiential learning program which traveled to 44 states, studying Geography of the American Civil Rights Struggle, American Intellectual History, American Road Literature, and American Social history.

On the The Majic Bus, the 13 students, chosen from universities acros America, met and studied with icons such as Kurt Vonnegut, Hunter S. Thompson, Bo Diddley, Townes Van Zandt, Toni Morrison, Arthur Miller, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Rita Dove, Arthur Schlessinger Jr., Doris Kearns Goodwin, Hubert Selby, Jr., Ramblin' Jack Elliot, William vanden Heuvel, Robert Hunter, Steven Soderbergh, Kerry Kennedy, Allen Ginsberg, Ed Asner, Jim Carroll, Steven Ambrose, Jimmy and Roslyn Carter, Chris Felver, T. Boone Pickens, Alice Brock, William Kennedy, Chuck Berry, Waylon Jennings, Hamilton Jordan, Larry Woiwode, John Kenneth Galbraith, Kinky Friedman, Melba Pattillo Beals, Liz Gilbert, Tom McGuane and many others.

Doug Brinkley C-Span appearance, 1994:

Site maintained by: H Spencer Young